Outdated Christmas Post

December 17, 2008 at 7:33 pm (Family, Friends, holiday, house cleaning, movies, Pets, Sylvia) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

By Eydie Wight

Better Late then NEVER!

I was just thinking that each Christmas has it’s own particular flavor. Every year different. This year Sammy is going to Georgia to visit Zach and Melody and Rog and I are going down to Mom and Dad’s. I felt such an ache when Sammy left to make the long drive (14-16 hrs.) yesterday morning. We had had a busy day the day before packing, cleaning the car, exchanging gifts, had been up fairly late, and I thought I would dream the day away watching Christmas movies while Sammy alternately drove and pulled off the road to doze. Turned up he drank a little more coffee than he normally should have, ranted back at talk radio, and listened to some good music and drove straight through. He started out in a snow squall with slippery roads and ended up in muggy 64 degrees. He and Zach are both in t-shirts today! After he left yesterday morning I thought I’d have a cup of coffee and putter a little and then nap to the “Holiday Pops” music channel. Well, I did the coffee and the music, and then puttering turned into dusting and vacuuming the entire house, having a long visit out with the shed cats in their warm shed, shampooing the upstairs carpet, putting to rights all the scatter downstairs from packing up Sammy for his trip, and scrubbing the bathrooms. Then as it began to snow, and the meager daylight faded, Sammy called to say he was still awake and traveling well, and Rog came home with friends to have a little Dungeons and Dragons campaign, I decided to pop in “Stranger than Fiction” and wrap a few present until I got tired. Next thing I knew the presents were all wrapped and I popped in “Eight Crazy Nights.”

(Lengthy sidebar here. I have a List each year, a little game I play with all who care to play. Sylvia, I’m especially interested in your list! You have to make up a list of your favorite five celebrities who you fancy. Sammy’s list tends to run heavily to attractive news women. My list changes, but slowly. I’m loyal to favorites for years. In fact, number one on my list since the 1970’s, number one on my list until he dies, number one, is Gene Wilder. Ever since I first followed him as the fox in “The Little Prince,” then “Willy Wonka,” “The World’s Greatest Lover,” “The Frisco Kid,” “Young Frankenstein,” he’s been my top choice. This year, I think number two has to be Adam Sandler. I like the way the characters in his movies aren’t always the best guys, but they always try to be the best people they can. And, he makes me laugh. School’s out on the rest of the list this coming year, but some of those who made the list in years past: Luke Wilson, Bill Pulman, (excuse the possible miss-spellings) Jeff Goldblum, Steve Martin, and Mark Addy, just to name a few. Criteria: make me laugh, don’t take themselves too seriously, be quirky romantics in their romantic roles, and have nice feet.)

Next thing I knew, “Eight Crazy Nights” was over and I was still awake. Sammy was safe in Georgia, staying at Zach and Melody’s, Roger’s friends made an early night of it and he had gone to bed, and I was home the only one awake. Emy and Ophelia were sleepily grooming each other and purring contentedly before falling asleep on the couch, the wood stove had a thick bed of coals, a big “night log” on top, and was damped for the night, it was 2:30 AM and I turned the channel to “The Mystery Men,” ate some pretzels, drank a glass of my blackberry wine, and gravitated to bed sometime in the early hours.

2 Comments

  1. Sylvia said,

    Eydie,

    After much contemplation, here’s my list:

    Bill Maher….I want to marry him.
    George Clooney…I wish he would want to marry me.
    Jack Nicholson….I wish I was born earlier, and I know we would marry.
    Anderson Cooper….I wish I was born later, but he’ll probably never marry.
    And finally…Ellen Degeneres.

    Eydie‘s heard me say sometimes I wish I were gay, it would be easier. And if I were, Ellen and I would have at least dated.

    xo
    Syl

  2. Eydie Wight said,

    Hey Sylvia,

    Down here with my mom and dad after dad’s knee replacement surgery on Monday. I had a busy week of work over the New Year, a nasty stomach virus after, and I’m just getting caught up on things. Your list, hmmm, no matches on any of those, especially # 2 (no offense George but no thanks!) I would definitely replace Ellen (although I DO like Ellen) with Jodie Foster. She would probably find me intellectually inferior and she is most assuredly exquisitely superior physically, but I can dream… I’m still working on the rest of my list, three more to go for this year.

    By the way, I loved the way you worded your comments with the possible marriage scenarios! You need to blog with us girl. Be the blog, think the blog, exercise that literary talent (make Brother John happy! 🙂 )

    Love ya!
    Eydie

Leave a comment